About Us


Many Courses, Many Awarding Bodies - National Qualification Authorities

There are many courses on offer which are approved by various bodies.  When choosing a course it is helpful that the course is externally accredited by a validated independent educational body.

If you intend to progress to university , it is useful if the course you choose is recognised by Ofqual in England or SQA in Scotland or Quality & Qualifications Ireland.

For many professional courses, an industry recognised qualification will be sufficient for career progression. There are many reputable industry bodies which are not aligned to any framework and are very effective in achieving career and educational goals e.g PMI Project Management Institute

CMI Educational Partnerships, UK & Ireland

CMI is quality approved by QQI Quality and Qualifications Ireland to deliver up to 10 validated programmes (these courses were formally FETAC level 5-6 courses). 

CMI is quality approved by a number of UK awarding bodies who in turn offer qualifications recognised by the qualifications authorities in England and Scotland. 
Ofqual is the Office for Examinations & Qualifications for England and SQA is the Scottish Qualifications Authority for Scotland. 

CMI has partnered with a number of Ofqual validated awarding bodies including CQI Chartered Quality Institute, CIPS - Chartered Institute of Procurement & Supply, and CMI Chartered Management Institute.  

CMI has also partnered with an awarding body , NEBOSH, National Examinations Body in Occupational Safety & Health which is approved by the SQA Scottish Qualifications Authority.

What level is the course I’m doing?


To check the levels of awards from CMI educational partners in the UK, simply search for the name of the awarding body organisation CLICK here 

To find out modules QQI has approved and validated for CMI -  CLICK HERE 

How does a my qualification level in England compare to other countries?

Each course offered is at a certain level on the framework.  Once a course/qualification is approved by Ofqual or SQA or QQI  they are broadly comparable. 

The document, Qualifications can cross boundaries - a rough guide   is a useful guide to broadly comparing qualifications in the UK and Ireland. This was published by each of the Quality Regulatory Bodies representing England, Republic of Ireland, Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales. Awards issued in England or Scotland.  In addition there is a recently launched European-wide website comparison, which supports this comparison of different national education systems.

CMI bases its comparisons on this important Qualifications guide. Here is a table below taken from the guide to make it easier for you to compare levels across borders.

A full listing of accredited UK Awarding bodies and qualifications and their respective levels can be found on by Searching organisation or qualification title on the National Database of Accredited Qualifications (NDAQ). 

Table of Comparison


  NFQ (Republic of Irel) Of Qual (England)              SQA (Scotland)
Masters/ Post Grad Dip               9 7 11
Higher Dip/Hons degree/Grad Dip               8 or 7 6 10
Ord Degree                    7 or 6 5 9
Higher Cert                 6 4 8 & 7
Cert Award                 5 3 6


Source: Qualification can cross Boundaries Guide